MINUTES OF THE ORDINARY MEETING OF

THE NORTHERN RIVERS JOINT ORGANISATION

HELD VIA ZOOM

ON FRIDAY 26 JUNE 2020

ATTENDANCE

Crs Danielle Mulholland (Chair), Isaac Smith, David Wright, Simon Richardson, Robert Mustow, Chris Cherry

Anita Gambhir (Office of Local Government); Louise McMeeking (Regional NSW)

General Managers Troy Green, Vaughan MacDonald, Graham Kennett, Mark Arnold, Paul Hickey, Shelley Oldham

Michael Thurston (Destination North Coast), Phil Rudd, Keith Williams (Rous County Council),

Isabel Perdriau, Donna McIntyre (minute taker)

1. ELECTION OF CHAIR

The meeting opened at 11.00am with Executive Officer Isabel Perdriau presiding as the Returning Officer for the election of a Chair and Deputy Chair for the NRJO.

Voting representatives for the election of Chairperson and Deputy Chairperson are the Mayors of the member councils as listed in the Proclamation.

These are:

• Cr Danielle Mulholland Mayor Kyogle Council

• Cr Robert Mustow Mayor Richmond Valley Council

• Cr Isaac Smith Mayor Lismore City Council

• Cr Simon Richardson Mayor Byron Shire Council

Cr David Wright Mayor Ballina Shire Council

• Cr Chris Cherry Deputy Mayor Tweed Shire Council

Only one nomination for the position of Chair was received. A further call for nominations was made by the Returning Officer and no additional nominations were received. There being only one nomination, the Returning Officer declared Cr Danielle Mulholland to be elected to the role of Chair of the Northern Rivers Joint Organisation.

2. ELECTION OF DEPUTY CHAIR

Cr Danielle Mulholland nominated Cr Isaac Smith for the role of Deputy Chair. This was seconded by Cr Richardson. Cr Smith accepted the nomination. A further call for nominations was made by the Returning Officer and no additional nominations were received. There being only one nomination, the Returning Officer declared Cr Isaac Smith to be elected to the role of Deputy Chair of the Northern Rivers Joint Organisation. Cr Danielle Mulholland assumed the Chair.

Page | 1 26 June 2020

3. ACKNOWLEDGEMENT OF COUNTRY

In opening the meeting, the Chair provided an Acknowledgement of Country.

4. APOLOGIES

Cr Katie Milne; Cr Virginia West and Cr Derek Swanborough (Scenic Rim Council), Tim Williamson (RDA Northern Rivers), Ashley Lindsay (Clarence Valley Council)

26062020/1 RESOLVED

Moved: S Richardson/I Smith

THAT the apologies tabled for the NRJO Board meeting be accepted

CARRIED

FOR VOTE - All Councillors voted unanimously.

ABSENT/DID NOT VOTE – Cr Wright

5. DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

6. ADDRESS BY OFFICIAL VISITORS

No official address

7. CONFIRMATION OF MINUTES and BUSINESS ARISING

7.1 Confirmation of Minutes – NRJO Meeting 7 February 2020

26062020/2 RESOLVED

Moved: S Richardson/D Mulholland

THAT the Minutes of the Ordinary Meeting of the Northern Rivers Joint Organisation held Friday 7 February 2020 be adopted as a true and accurate record of proceedings of that meeting.

CARRIED

FOR VOTE - All Councillors voted unanimously.

ABSENT/DID NOT VOTE - Cr Wright

8. NOTICES OF MOTION

NIL received

Page | 2 26 June 2020

9. REPORTS

9.1 ASSOCIATE MEMBER REPORT - DESTINATION NORTH COAST

26062020/3 RESOLVED

Moved: I Smith/R Mustow

THAT the report from Destination North Coast be noted.

CARRIED

FOR VOTE – All Councillors voted unanimously.

ABSENT/DID NOT VOTE - Cr Wright

9.2 ASSOCIATE MEMBER REPORT – RDA NORTHERN RIVERS

26062020/4 RESOLVED

Moved: S Richardson/D Mulholland

THAT the report from RDA Northern Rivers be noted.

CARRIED

FOR VOTE – All Councillors voted unanimously.

ABSENT/DID NOT VOTE - Cr Wright

9.3 ASSOCIATE MEMBER REPORT – SCENIC RIM REGIONAL COUNCIL

26062020/5 RESOLVED

Moved: R Mustow/S Richardson

THAT the report from Scenic Rim regional Council be noted.

CARRIED

FOR VOTE - All Councillors voted unanimously.

ABSENT/DID NOT VOTE - Cr Wright

Cr David Wright joined the meeting at 11:17am

9.4 ASSOCIATE MEMBER REPORT – ROUS COUNTY COUNCIL

26062020/6 RESOLVED

Moved: R Mustow/I Smith

THAT the Northern Rivers Joint organisation;

- 1. Receive and note the report
- 2. Recognise the proposed Future Water Project 2060 Integrated Water Cycle Management Plan as a regionally significant initiative in order to support Rous County Council's efforts to secure State and Federal Government funding assistance.

Page | 3 26 June 2020

CARRIED

FOR VOTE - All Councillors voted unanimously

9.5 CHAIR AND EXECUTIVE OFFICER REPORT

26062020/7 RESOLVED

Moved: D Mulholland/S Richardson

THAT,

- I. the NRJO does not support a financial contribution for a secretariat to the Chairs network.
- II. should the Minister for Local Government and/or the NSW Office of Local Government be prepared to fund the provision of a secretariat, it would have the NRJO's support.

CARRIED

FOR VOTE - All Councillors voted unanimously

26062020/8 RESOLVED

Moved: S Richardson/R Mustow

THAT the existing service agreement between NRJO and RDA NR is renewed until 31 December 2020.

CARRIED

FOR VOTE - All Councillors voted unanimously

26062020/9 RESOLVED

Moved: R Mustow/I Smith

THAT the Chair and Executive Officer's report be received and noted

CARRIED

FOR VOTE - All Councillors voted unanimously

9.6 NORTH COAST WASTE PROJECT UPDATE

Nil

9.7 JO CAPACITY BUILDING FUND

26062020/10 RESOLVED

Moved: D Wright/R Mustow

THAT the report be received and noted

CARRIED

FOR VOTE - All Councillors voted unanimously.

Page | 4 26 June 2020

9.8 FINANCIAL REPORT

26062020/11 RESOLVED

Moved: C Cherry/S Richardson

THAT the financial statements for the period ending 31 May 2020 be accepted

CARRIED

FOR VOTE - All Councillors voted unanimously.

10. URGENT BUSINESS

26062020/12 RESOLVED

Moved: D Mulholland/I Smith

THAT the Board moved into closed session to consider an urgent report from the Chair in relation to the Executive Officer role.

CARRIED

FOR VOTE - All Councillors voted unanimously.

The Board went into closed session at 11:25am

26062020/15 RESOLVED

Moved: D Wright/I Smith

THAT the Board move out of closed session and into open session.

CARRIED

FOR VOTE - All Councillors voted unanimously.

Open session resumed at 11:31am and the following resolutions from closed session were recorded;

26062020/13 RESOLVED

Moved: D Wright/I Smith

THAT the Board receive and note a verbal report from the Chair on the Executive Officer recruitment and note that the selection panel will remain as per last resolution and will consist of Cr Mulholland (Chair), Cr Smith (Deputy Chair) and Cr Mustow, with any other member of the NRJO Board able to attend as an observer.

CARRIED

FOR VOTE - All Councillors voted unanimously.

Page | 5 26 June 2020

26062020/14 RESOLVED

Moved: D Mulholland/ D Wright

THAT Graham Kennett be appointed as interim Executive Officer without remuneration until the position is filled.

CARRIED

FOR VOTE - All Councillors voted unanimously.

11. CONFIDENTIAL REPORTS

Nil

12. CORRESPONDENCE

26062020/16 RESOLVED

Moved: R Mustow/I Smith

THAT the correspondence report be noted

CARRIED

FOR VOTE - All Councillors voted unanimously.

MEETING CLOSED 11.33am

NEXT MEETING

21 AUGUST 2020

TWEED SHIRE COUNCIL

Minutes approved

Cr Danielle Mulholland

Chair

Page | 6 26 June 2020